Right before Thanksgiving I received an email from a man named Adam Conley who is the Communications Director for the Chateau Retirement Communities in the Seattle area. Adam had recently written an article for the company’s holiday newsletter based on an experience Chris Serold (a marketing colleague at the Chateau) had had with some of the community’s residents. The talk at dinner had turned to Frederick & Nelson and residents from 64 to 102 talked well into the night sharing their memories of the store. Adam himself remembers F&N fondly although he identifies himself as one of the last generations to do so, having had his 12 year old Santa photo taken the year the store closed.

One thing has led to another and tomorrow I’m going to Chateau at Bothell Landing to participate in a F&N Reminiscence Tea. One of their other mystery guests is a man who was apparently once the President of F&N so I am honored to be on the same agenda. I hope to bring back many memories to share after tomorrow but until then…here’s some of Adam’s –

I’m 32 years old (as I say, probably one of the last generations to remember F&N clearly and fondly), and have all my Santa photos, with covers, from 1976 to 1988 or 89 (my sister joins me in 1978).  My mother used to go with her mother in the 50s, I went with mine, etc. (you know the stories!).  There is even a cute studio portrait of my mother taken at Fredericks in the early 50s.  My grandmother had her dressed up so smartly for a visit that they pulled her aside and asked to take her picture for marketing materials.”

And here’s some memories inspired by his article from his mother –

“It brought tears to my eyes as I recalled my own memories as a young girl going with my Mom to Fredericks – for lunch in the tea room and also in the Paul Bunyan restaurant.  How the paintings on the walls of Paul B. captivated me!  You know, of course, that Fredericks had both a beauty salon and a photography department.  My “famous” picture in a red hat covering my newly cut and styled hair hung on the wall for a long time!  I was wearing a blue and white striped blouse and a red jumper that my Mom made for me.

I also remember staying in the “kindergarten” while my Mom shopped.  I remember something about Groucho Marx and I think they had a TV or movie going with his show.  All of the things you wrote about are memories I have.  It is neat that The Ruins now has the mechanical elephant.  The owners of The Ruins must have paid a lot for it.”

And here’s his article “It Wouldn’t be Christmas Without Frederick & Nelson” –

File Attachment: Chris’ Corner Newsletter -Nov_3.pdf (568 KB)